Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join NASW
News & Press: Advocacy Alerts

Calls needed to Ohio Congressional Delegation: co-sponsor Social Worker Safety Bill.

Monday, May 27, 2019   (0 Comments)
Share |

One of NASW’s key legislative priorities is passage of the Workplace Violence Prevention for Health Care and Social Service Workers Act (S. 851/H.R. 1309). This much-needed legislation would require a wide variety of health and mental health settings nationwide to develop and implement workplace violence prevention plans.


We are working to secure 150 cosponsors for H.R. 1309 so the bill can proceed to the next step in committee consideration. As of today, there are 113 cosponsors – we need 37 more so this bill can move forward.


Currently the following Ohio representatives have signed on: Marcia Fudge, Tim Ryan, and Marcy Kaptur. This means that if you live in the following congressional districts with these representatives, we need you to call:

  • Steve Chabot
  • Brad Wenstrup
  • Joyce Beatty
  • Jim Jordan
  • Robert Latta
  • Bill Johnson
  • Bob Gibbs
  • Warren Davidson
  • Michael Turner
  • Troy Balderson
  • David Joyce
  • Steve Stivers
  • Anthony Gonzalez

Here's the information to help you make calls.

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal